Post Christmas Bargains & Present Wrapping Hack

bargains.jpg

As the holiday season winds down, stores start to mark down their merchandise!  This is my favorite time prep for the rest of the year and stock up on 3 specific things.

3 things to stock up on after the holidays:
I’m not talking about marked down clothes of the winter season, or the trend toy that came out for the holidays.  This is about some really useful stuff that you can use throughout the rest of the year!

I’ve found great deals right after Christmas on the three NON HOLIDAY items below:

  • Wrapping paper – if you’re planning to use this through the rest of the year, look for something that doesn’t have seasonal patterns.  It can be a small challenge, but I’ve found plain, solid color paper; and paper with simple designs like stripes or dots.  Since it’s marked down with all of the other holiday wrapping paper, you’ll find some great deals!
  • Plain white boxes – I’ve noticed that the during the holidays, you can find wrapping boxes much easier than any time of year.  But, it’s not only during the holidays that you’ll want to be able to put an odd shaped gift in a box to make it easier to wrap.  That’s why I like to buy a few extra plain boxes during the holidays, so that I can use them through the rest of the year!
  • Tissue paper – white tissue paper is great to have on hand to wrap around gifts for all occasions – birthdays, baby showers…any party you’re bringing a gift to!  I picked up a huge pack from Costco (I think it’s about 400 sheets) and it has lasted me about 3-4 years!

These three items are great to have on hand year round, to reduce the amount of times you might have been scrambling around last minute to try to find something to wrap a gift in!  I also find that it not only helps me with other occasions throughout the year, but when the holidays roll around again, I already have something to use!  Anything I can do to reduce the amount of times I need to battle crowds or worry about things being sold out – I’m in!

If you don’t already do this (because this tip was definitely new to me), I learned from a friend of mine to cut wrapping paper with an envelope opener!  What a great idea!  Don’t know why I didn’t think of it, but I’m also not the most crafty…haha!

For the people who already do this, you’re probably rolling your eyes and feeling pity that I’m so late to the game.  But, for those of you who haven’t heard of this before – START DOING IT NOW!

Thanks for stopping by!

*For more tips, reviews, etc. subscribe to my blog!  Great things are coming in 2016!*

8 thoughts on “Post Christmas Bargains & Present Wrapping Hack

  1. Crystal says:

    I have wrapping paper from Sam’s from 2002 from overdoing it on a super good sale. LOL I rarely wrap things anytime but Christmas. It is usually a mad dash to a birthday party with a sack. I have a special paper cutting tool that came with some scotch tape one year that works awesome and it is an awful lot like and envelope opener. I am hoping to snag a new robe on a good after Christmas clearance sale. They still had four big racks left at Kohl’s the week before Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • the.nitta.notes says:

      Good luck with your after Christmas shopping! Yes – I have wrapping paper from a years ago, but still going strong! Ooh, I haven’t seen the scotch tape and paper cutter combo but now I’m curious! Thanks for stopping by!!

      Like

  2. Joscelyn | Wifemamafoodie says:

    Great tips! I always try to stock up after Christmas on wrapping paper and such but I never thought to look for plain paper for birthdays and showers..what a great idea! All that stuff typically adds several dollars to the price of the gift so I’d be happy to save that little bit since it only gets thrown away anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

    • the.nitta.notes says:

      Glad you found this helpful! I found white paper with gold dots and cream colored paper with watermelon colored prints – all in the Christmas wrapping section! Both definitely cute for other occasions! Hope you find something! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

