5 Habits of Hybrid Owners

Hybrid

NERD ALERT!

As a hybrid car owner for the past few years, I can attest to the enjoyment and fun that being a hybrid owner brings.  Now, I know that might sound strange…and I have friends who say they will NEVER, EVER want to own a hybrid (or so they think…  :D).  But I think it was a great decision and I love my car.

However, there are 5 habits to be aware of, if you’re considering hybrid vehicle ownership:

  1. Constantly watching your fuel efficiency on the road – these cars come with monitors and gauges to give you the details on your MPG’s, if your battery is being charged by your motor or your wheels, if you’re running on only electricity at a stop light, etc.  Driving literally turns into a game where the goal is to drive the MOST efficiently as possible…AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE!
  2. Getting excited when you reach 50+ MPG’s! – SERIOUSLY.  It’s a BIG milestone.  No joke.  Don’t laugh.
  3. Documenting it – yes, I took a picture.  Wouldn’t you?  My old car only got 20 MPG’s!  How is this one getting more than 50!
  4. Testing the limits of your fuel tank – 375+ miles and the light just came on to tell me that my tank is running low…but, I should be able to run on the fumes, right?  I mean…IT’S A HYBRID!!!  (please don’t do this – I only jokingly thought this, and I don’t want to encourage anyone getting stranded!)
  5. Making note of EVERY “alternate energy vehicle” parking stall whenever you are NOT in a hybrid – it annoys me every time.  “Ugh…if we took my car today, we could’ve parked in the stall right next to the entrance of Nordstrom Rack!!!  Those stalls are ALWAYS open!”

(Yes, I am making fun of myself in this post!  I catch myself thinking these things every now and then and just thought I would share!)

In all seriousness though, I do think that hybrids are great cars and I love mine!  I try my best to decrease my carbon footprint in ways that I can manage.  I may not be someone who can eliminate every single thing all at once, but hopefully it makes a small difference!

6 thoughts on “5 Habits of Hybrid Owners

  1. keepingupwithashlyn says:

    This may sound weird, but I literally just heard what a hybrid vehicle sounds like when it starts up. It’s soooooo quiet!!

    Good points about things to consider about hybrids! I can’t believe the mileage it gets… I’m jealous! My car is a V8 and I’m filling it up alllllll the time. Not proud of that…

    Liked by 1 person

    • the.nitta.notes says:

      Omg it is super quiet! It’s the worst when driving behind a pedestrian because they have no idea that you’re there… Lol!! I’ve honked at people walking in the middle of the street before because I was just driving along at like 1 MPH behind them. Hey, you catch the bus in to work though!

      Like

  2. Joscelyn | Wifemamafoodie says:

    My husband has been wanting a hybrid for years! I do love how gas efficient they are and how you can’t even hear them when they’re running. I think we’ll definitely be purchasing a hybrid for one of our future cars. They just have so many pros and not many cons 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the.nitta.notes says:

      Yay! I think you’ll love it! There are so many companies out there these days who make hybrids there are a lot of options. 🙂 I know some people think that hybrids are either tiny or really expensive – but there might be something that fits with what you need!

      Like

Leave a Reply

