Review: Clinique Gel Moisturizers

I’ve had a difficult time finding a great moisturizer that wouldn’t make me break out.  Keep reading if you’re interested in knowing more about the first moisturizer that I was able to use without breaking out!

When I was in high school, I became more concerned about skin care, and finding a great moisturizer that worked for me was one of the biggest challenges.  (My other BIG challenge was finding sun screen that didn’t cause breakouts!)  I had been told time and time again, and would constantly come across magazine articles about the importance of moisturizers.  Part of me felt like it wasn’t really necessary, it was just another product I would have to purchase, and why the heck would I want to put something on my face that felt greasy!?!??!

Nonetheless, I figured I should start to take this moisturizer thing more seriously, and ended up trying many different ones, only to be disappointed when I’d start breaking out within the day after applying it.

It was tough.  No joke.  What made it worse was that I didn’t really have any big skin issues.  My breakouts were literally just one or two small pimples, or something along those lines.  I had combination to oily skin – another reason why it was difficult to motivate myself to use moisturizer.  No crazy acne.  So this to me was like…WHY?!?!

Why is everyone everywhere saying how important it is to use moisturizer?  It doesn’t seem to be doing my skin any good!!!

I purchased items from the drug store that I read about in magazines, everything from Clean & Clear, Neutrogena, Aveno, etc.  I also hit the department stores thinking, okay…maybe if I invested in a higher quality product that might help?  But..no luck!  Because products I tried were breaking me out, I also tried the version of products geared towards users with acne.

Still no luck.  Instead, I just felt like I have been wasting money on products that don’t work!  (It happens to all of us!)

I honestly don’t know what took me so long to figure it out…it was probably because skin care was relatively new to me and the internet was not as much of the place to go to for information as it is today.  “Googling” it was not the thing to do at the time, and most of my research (if you can even call it research) was done by reading magazines.

The answer: gel moisturizers (they’re oil free!)

Back then (I know, I’m making it sound like 100 years ago!) oil free, gel moisturizers were not as common as they are today.  I was familiar with Clinique products, and had previously tried the regular version of the “Dramatically Different Moisturizer” which made me feel very oily and made me break out.  I was SO SO happy to find that there was a gel version of this and thought I’d give it a try!

I’m so glad that I did!

Specifics on what I like about the Clinique Dramatically Different Gel Moisturizer:
–  First of all – it’s oil free and gel!!
–  The gel texture makes me feel a LOT better about putting this on my skin, and be confident that it will make me feel oily
–  It absorbs quickly into the skin
–  Doesn’t break me out!
–  The bottle lasts a long time, you only really need about one pump for your entire face

If you apply other products after this moisturizer, it definitely helps with application of other products – sun screen, serums, eye cream, foundation primer, foundation, etc.

08142015 (1)

I also realized that I really like their “Moisture Surge” gel for use at night.  Oddly enough, in the past couple of years my skin started to get dry during colder seasons.  This was not something that had happened before, or I just didn’t notice as much.

I found that even if you have combination/oily skin, moisturizers can help to balance your skin out so that the skin doesn’t produce as much oil as it used to.  It does TAKE TIME though, so be patient!  Patience was not something I had as much of when I first started trying things out.

To be honest, I gave up pretty quickly.  My new rule is to use something for at least 2-4 weeks before I come to a decision on how I feel about the particular product.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

